NaNo and other updates

Standard

It’s the final stretch of NaNo. How am I doing? Roughly 4,000 words behind. Must step it up for these last few days! I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.

Actually, I’m fairly certain that I know I can. Either way though, this has been the most productive and eye opening month in my writing career. I have had an absolute wonderful time getting to know my characters and writing out the story. I have a long way to go before the first draft is done (I think I’m about halfway done with the 40,000 words I currently have). 

Stephen King’s memoir, On Writing, has been the biggest help so far. I will definitely be rereading it when I start the rewrite stage in a few months. I also think I will take his advice and leave the manuscript be for a few weeks (while starting on a new story). That way I can look at it with fresh eyes later. 

Overall, the writing is getting better and smoother. I love writing every day and it no longer feels like a chore, but something that I itch to do. And I can’t tell you have much I love that itch. 

One response »

Leave a Reply

