Book Review: Cinder

Standard

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA

Summary: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . 

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Review: I absolutely devoured this book! I had wanted to read it for awhile, basically since it came out. And one of my friends just happened to give me a copy a few weeks ago! So, here’s my review. I like how complicated the world is, and especially how Meyer too the time to slowly introduce you to it. Layer by layer. It made the world real and tangible, instead of confusing and overwhelming. 

I felt connected to the main character, Cinder, almost right from the start. i think this due to how she was treated by everyone around her, as less than a human. I like that twist as well. It resonates true with our own history (see slaves).

I could see the Cinderella story parallel this story throughout the book, which was a great touch! I also thought that Meyer did an excellent job with every character. No one was flat and she left room for growth. Can’t wait to read the next in the series!

Recommendation: Read it! 

Image

 

Cheers!

2 responses »

  1. I just listened to the audio version of this book and I definitely agree – solid world building and Cinder is a likable character straight from the start. I have the next book on the top of my TBR pile – can’t wait to read it, too! 🙂

  2. What an interesting take on this story! Making the cyborg like a slave since they’re both not treated like real people…really fascinating! Could make for a cool analysis in more ways than one… Thanks for bringing this work to my attention!

Leave a Reply

