Monthly Archives: November 2013

Win an ARC of THE MURDER COMPLEX

Standard

Here’s your chance to win an ARC of THE MURDER COMPLEX!

Image

 

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is-although he doesn’t know it-one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

 

Just head over to Lindsay’s blog to enter!

http://lindsaycummingsblog.blogspot.com/

Book Review: The Ultimate Rush

Standard

Author: Joe Quirk

Genre: Fiction

Summary: Chet Griffin, convicted computer hacker and San Francisco’s fastest rollerblading messenger, was given a simple assignment. But that delivery turned real deadly, real fast. Seems the package he was carrying contained a single computer disk — worth a cool billion.And everyone, from the Chinese mob to the SFPD, wants to get their hands on it. Now Chet’s fighting for his life, trying to clear his name, and wondering what price he’ll pay for..

Review: This novel is a thriller. It is action packed from the first page. It’s not my usual read, but a friend gave it to me and I’m glad they did. I love stepping out of my “comfort-read zone” and finding a new gem. (Though this book is like a decade or so old).

I realized that the subject matter used all of my knowledge from the past year. The streets of SF (I could visualize every block he talked about), insider trading (I have a finance degree), and tattoos (love love love dem). 

As for the writing, it’s well done. He uses a lot of description but does it well, using the narrator’s voice, which is packed full of street lingo! It was a fun ride with Chet! Quirk is also a magician with dialogue. Though it may seem annoying at first, what with all the lingo and puns packed into a ten word sentence, the actual dialogue moves the story forward.

Recommendation: GO. READ. NOW

Image

Cheers!