Tag Archives: booknerd

Book Review: Storm Front (Dresden Files #1)

Standard

Author: Jim Butcher

Genre: Fantasy/Crime

Summary: Lost items found. Paranormal Investigations.
Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates.
No Love Potions, Endless Purses, or
Other Entertainment.

Harry Dresden is the best at what he does. Well, technically, he’s the only at what he does. So when the Chicago P.D. has a case that transcends mortal creativity or capability, they come to him for answers. For the “everyday” world is actually full of strange and magical things — and most of them don’t play well with humans. That’s where Harry comes in. Takes a wizard to catch a — well, whatever.

There’s just one problem. Business, to put it mildly, stinks. So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name. And that’s when things start to get… interesting.

Magic. It can get a guy killed.

Review: Butcher has an amazing way with description. This is an action packed novel, but he doesn’t rush anything. Instead, each page is brought to life through description. Whether that be physical descriptions or description through Dresden’s many observations. It works!

Dresden is a witty, sarcastic, badass (to say the least) private investigator slash wizard. Butcher has done a great job creating a well-liked character who is also very authentic. His faults and sarcasm bring him to a human (though he’s a wizard) level. 

Recommendation: READ!!

Image

Cheers!

 

Advertisements

Win an ARC of THE MURDER COMPLEX

Standard

Here’s your chance to win an ARC of THE MURDER COMPLEX!

Image

 

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is-although he doesn’t know it-one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

 

Just head over to Lindsay’s blog to enter!

http://lindsaycummingsblog.blogspot.com/

Book Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)

Standard

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: YA

Summary: Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. 

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. 

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

Review: I love love love this book. Maggie is a genius writer. She crafts every paragraph and every sentence with a science. (Really, she does. She even talks about it on her blog).

This is a great second book of a series. Sometimes books can lag in the middle, but this one did not. Readers got to see more into Ronan’s life than in the first book. Maggie also kicks up the tension of the love story (near the end, thank goodness). 

This book is all action and suspense. And creepy magic things. 

Recommendation: GO. READ. NOW

.Image

Cheers! 

Book Review: Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)

Standard

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA

Summary: The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance

Review: I learned about this book when Fierce Reads book tour came to my town. I got to met Leigh and a handful of other amazing authors. As soon as I heard about this book, I was ready to read it!

Leigh’s pacing is masterful! This is the first in a series and she did an amazing job setting up the story. The story never felt slow, but she didn’t hurry over facts and emotions. The world building is phenomenal! 

I also thought she had a great new view on magic. She gave the characters powers (that I’d never heard of before) but also gave them limitations. Her use of a different language was unique as well.

As for the characters themselves, I loved them all! I was invested in Alina’s story from the first page. Her emotional development throughout the story was a nice arc. Leigh did a great job at playing around with the “bad guys”. I was constantly second guessing who was telling the truth and who wasn’t.

I can’t wait to read the next book!

Recommendation: Go read!!

Image

 

Cheers!

Book Review: Through the Ever Night

Standard

Author: Veronica Rossi

Genre: YA/Dystopian

Summary: It’s been months since Aria last saw Perry. Months since Perry was named Blood Lord of the Tides, and Aria was charged with an impossible mission. Now, finally, they are about to be reunited. But their reunion is far from perfect. The Tides don’t take kindly to Aria, a former Dweller. And with the worsening Aether storms threatening the tribe’s precarious existence, Aria begins to fear that leaving Perry behind might be the only way to save them both. Threatened by false friends, hidden enemies, and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder,Can their love survive through the ever night? In this second book in her spellbinding Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi combines fantasy and dystopian elements to create a captivating love story as perilous as it is unforgettable.

Review: Let me just say, I am obsessed with this trilogy. Obsessed. I’m considering rereading these first two (plus the Roar and Liv novella) over and over until the last book comes out.

Rossi has done an excellent job making me feel like I know Perry and Aria inside and out. And Roar, thanks to the novella. Rossi is great at building a character through their emotion, making them 100% real, unique, and consistent. They surprise me without ever veering from “who they are”. 

The arc of each character, even the secondary characters, from the first book is completely solidified in this second book. I’m so looking forward to seeing the end of the arc in the last book.

Recommendation: READ NOW!

Image

 

Cheers!

Book Review: Lament: The Faerie Queen”s Deception (Books of Faerie #1)

Standard

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: YA

Summary (goodreads): Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She’s about to find out she’s also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky—and equally dangerous—dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen’s sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren’t so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn’t exactly what she had in mind . . .

Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey

Review: Well, if you’ve been here before you may have heard me mentioned that I absolutely love Maggie Stiefvater. I had been meaning to read this book for a while and finally have (first on my Nook, as well). I strongly believe that writers (every single one of us) gets better with every story. And she is not an exception to this rule.

Though I enjoyed the story, I seem differences in her writing from this book to the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy to The Scorpio Races and finally to The Raven Boys. Boy has she really developed an amazing talent to create such real worlds.

Lament was wonderful, I enjoyed the story. But the things that popped out at me were how underdeveloped certain aspects of her writing (the ones that I adore and admire) were. Which both bothered me and gave me hope that I will eventually be able to write better stories.

Anyway, to the review!

I liked the ending. I was very happy to see that her first published book had the same quality of ending, in that she doesn’t allow her characters to get away unscathed. No one ever lives 100% “happily ever after”. There may be silver linings laying around, however. She also had a very strong female character (which I expected and was given). The emotion built throughout the book and by the end I cared about the main character, which (as I’ve said before) is the whole point.

I disliked that there were so many “musical sessions”. i understand that the main character is awesome with the harp, but I had no idea how to imagine the songs she was playing. That being said, this aspect didn’t completely take me out of the story. I was still about to come up with something to imagine. This is due to the great description Maggie wrote. 

Recommendation: If you’re a Maggie fan, read it! If not, but you love faeries or harps, read it! If neither, maybe borrow it and see how the first few chapters treat you.

Image

Cheers!

 

Check In!

Standard

Wow, I can’t believe it’s the 1st of March already! That means it’s time for another check in on those bookish goals for the year!

Goal #1: (Read 3 books I currently have before buying another.) I can check-off! That was The Raven Boys, The Hobbit, and Divergent!

Goal #2: (Read 3 books that have been on my TBR list for too long.) Almost done! The Hobbit was first and now on the second, Lament.

Goal #3: (Read 3 books that are out of my “normal” genre.) Down two! I’ve read my first steampunk (and not YA). Third is next up!

Goal #4: (Read 3 new authors.) I check this off too! J.R.R. Tolkien, Veronica Roth, and Gail Carriger!

Goal #5: (Read 3 books from NYT Bestseller list.) I can check this off as well! The Hobbit, Divergent, Soulless, Along for the Ride, and The Raven Boys!

Goal #6: (Read 3 debut authors.) I haven’t gotten anywhere with this one yet, but don’t fret it’s only March!

Goal #7: (Read at least ten books.) I know, I know. I totally low balled myself on this one. But this was my first year making solid reading goals. Anyway, let’s see. I’m currently on book number 7!

Goal #8: (Reread at least one book.) I’ve started rereading Forever by Maggie Stiefvater!

Goal #9: (Convince BF to read a book of my choosing.) Well, now it’s just friend, but I’m still working on it!

Goal #10: (Give thorough reviews of every book.) I’ll be working on this one throughout the year! 

Well, there we have it. As of March 1st, I have completed 3 goals! And I’m well on my way with the others! Woooo!

How’re your bookish goals coming along?

Cheers!